DiO 2023

Program Information

All times displayed in London Time (GMT+1)

Wednesday, June 21

  • 7:30-8:30AM: Breakfast
  • 8:30-8:45AM: Welcome and Introduction
    • Dean: Francisco Veloso
    • Organizers: Ying-Ying Hsieh, Mike Lee, Phanish Puranam, PK Toh
  • 8:45-10:15AM: Decentralization and What Drives It (Paper Session)
    • Presenter: David Clough, John Joseph
    • Discussant: Michael Jacobides
  • 10:15-10:45AM: Coffee Break
  • 10:45-12:15PM: Gender and Legitimacy in Decentralized Organizations (Paper Session)
    • Presenter: Saerom (Ronnie) Lee, Trevor Young-Hyman
    • Discussant: Oliver Alexy
  • 12:15-1:45PM: Lunch
  • 1:45-3:15PM: Alternative Organizational Governance Mechanisms (Paper Session)
    • Presenter: Natalia Levina, Vivianna Fang He
    • Discussant: Hila Lifshitz-Assaf
  • 3:15-3:30PM: Coffee Break
  • 3:30-5:00PM: Knowledge Diffusion and Development Under Decentralization (Paper Session)
    • Presenter: Wesley Koo, John Eklund
    • Discussant: Charlie Williams
  • 5:00-6:00PM: Strategizing in Decentralized Organizations (Panel Discussion)
    • Panelists: Markus Reitzig, Deepak Somaya, PK Toh
  • 6:00-7:00PM: Break
  • 7:00PM: Dinner at Stein’s Berlin

Thursday, June 22

  • 8:00-9:00AM: Breakfast
  • 9:00-10:30AM: Moving Within and Beyond Hierarchy (Paper Session)
    • Presenter: Lindy Greer, Mike Lee
    • Discussant: Ethan Bernstein
  • 10:30-11:00AM: Coffee Break
  • 11:00-12:30PM: Incentivizing and Evaluating Innovations in Decentralized Organizations (Paper Session)
    • Presenter: Ronald Klingebiel
    • Discussant: Tobias Kretschmer
  • 12:30-2:00PM: Lunch
  • 2:00-3:30PM: Platform Governance and Reorganization (Paper Session)
    • Presenter: Annabelle Gawer, Ying-Ying Hsieh
    • Discussant: Melissa Schilling
  • 3:30-4:00PM: Coffee Break
  • 4:00-5:30PM: Theories Insights and Lessons on Decentralization in Organizations (Panel Session)
    • Panelists: Carliss Baldwin, Siobhan O’Mahony, Phanish Puranam, Sonali Shah
  • 5:30-6:00PM: Debrief and Conclusion
    • Organizers: Ying-Ying Hsieh, Mike Lee, Phanish Puranam, PK Toh
  • 6:00-8:00PM: Reception (Sponsored by Organization Design Community) at Ognisko